Brahma: the God of creation in Hinduism. It is called the three main gods together with Vishnu and Shiva

Spread the love

Brahma refers to the Hindu god of creation. Brahma is also known as the God of making books, Brahma Motian and Jingtian. In Chinese areas, it is commonly known as the four sided Buddha (the great Brahma king and the gods in Indian Buddhism, especially the Lord of the early Zen heaven in the color world, also known as the great Brahma king). It is the God of creation of Indian Brahmanism and the creator of Sanskrit letters. Together with Vishnu and Shiva, they are called the three main gods. The following China story network editor will bring you a detailed introduction. Let’s have a look!

His mount is a peacock (or Swan), and his spouse is the goddess of wisdom, Miaoyin tiannv, so Brahma is often regarded as the God of wisdom. Among tens of thousands of Hindu temples in India, temples dedicated to Brahma are extremely rare.


Image symbol of Brahma

Four arms: it symbolizes the four directions of East, West, South and North, as well as the soul (right rear arm), wisdom (left rear arm), self (right front arm) and self-confidence (left front arm).

Vedas: symbolic knowledge.

Gold: the symbol is active in the universe, and the golden face represents that Brahma was active when he created the universe.

Swan: symbolizing discrimination, it is the mount of Brahma.

Peacock: Mount of Brahma. This peacock is born to separate milk and water, which means that everyone should learn to distinguish good from evil, and then develop good and discard evil.

Crown: symbolizes the highest status.

Lotus: symbolizes all existence in nature and the universe.

Beard: black or white beard symbolizes wisdom, while long beard symbolizes the eternal growth of wisdom.

Four faces: four Vedas.

The traditional image of Brahma is four heads, four faces and four arms, and he constantly recites the Vedas in his mouth. Especially in northern India, he often has a white beard, which represents his almost eternal existence. Unlike other Hindu gods, Brahma usually has no weapons in his hands; But in one hand, he held a spoon shaped token, representing the dropping of sacred cream into the stack of self sacrificing matches. This means that Brahma is a god of self sacrifice. In one hand, he holds a kettle (sometimes a coconut shell with water), and the water in the kettle represents the beginning of all things and covers everything. Brahma also holds a rosary, which is a timer for him to calculate the passage of time in the universe. In addition, he also holds the Veda, a symbol of holiness, or a lotus representing purity.

There is also a myth about the origin of Brahma’s four heads. Brahma originally had five heads, because Vishnu asked Brahma who was the supreme creator of the universe. Brahma said, “he is the supreme creator of the universe, so Vishnu should worship him.” Brahma’s words made Shiva furious, because Shiva was the supreme creator of the universe. The angry Shiva incarnated as bhairava, and cut off the fifth head of Brahma, Bhairava (meaning horrible killer). When Shiva was angry, a god flew out of Shiva. This God was Nandi. Nandi cut off Brahma’s fifth head. After cutting off Brahma’s head, “perava” or “Nandi” committed the crime of killing Brahma. Brahma’s cut head could not leave the hands of “perava” or “Nandi” as a punishment. Later, “perava” entered “erode”, and Brahma’s cut head fell from the hands of “perava” and was crushed, The crushed fragments became several “holy lakes” (kapala tirtham).


Another version of “Nandi” into the holy city of “Benares” (Benares), Brahma was beheaded from the hands of “Nandi” fell. Although there was a disagreement between Brahma and Shiva, in the end, Brahma and Shiva were reconciled as before.

Place of worship

The most famous extant Brahma temple is located in pushuka, a town in Rajasthan. At the annual full moon night (October November), people will begin to celebrate Brahma. Thousands of worshippers will flock to the holy lake pushuka Lake next to Brahma temple for bathing.

As for Brahma temples outside pushuka, they are described as follows in a counterclockwise manner according to the geographical location of India:

??1. North India: kuru, the county seat of kuru County, Himachal Pradesh.

??2. Northwest India: there are also statues of Brahma in ashtra, barotra Township, Palmer County, Rajasthan, and kedebrahama, the town of Gujarat, and kedebrahama, the county governor of sabakanta County, Gujarat.

??3. West India: Brahma statues about 1.8 meters high have also been found in the sopara area near Mumbai. Brahma Karmali, sotoli Township, Goa

??4. Southwest India: hirunavaya in Kerala. During the nine Night Festival, people went to Brahma temple in helunavaya to offer sacrifices and celebrate.

??5. Southeast India: khumbako south, tangarpur County, Tamil Nadu, and thirupattur near tiruzirapali, the big city of Tamil Nadu. This temple is also the meditation place of Saint JEV vyakrapatha. Sri kalahasti in Andhra Pradesh also has a temple dedicated to Brahma. Disclaimer: the above content originates from the network, and the copyright belongs to the original author. Please inform us if your original copyright is infringed, and we will delete the relevant content as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *