Mohuloga: snake god in Indian sutras, one of the eight heavenly dragons

Spread the love

The snake god in the Buddhist scriptures is one of the eight heavenly dragons. The eight divisions, one is heaven, the other is dragon, the third is Yasha, the fourth is dhava, the fifth is Asura, the sixth is Kalura, the seventh is jinnara, and the eighth is ramahuloga. The following China story network editor will bring you a detailed introduction. Let’s have a look!

Name source

[Devanagari in Tiancheng style]

[romanization] mahoraga

[Medieval Chinese sound] MUA ú u La GA

[Chinese translation] snake

Word formation:

Sanskrit Roman word English Chinese Translation: Maha great, uraga serpent snake

[Sanskrit] uraga, dragon—— Interpretation of the Huayan Sutra of Dafang Guangfo (V)


There is the king of immeasurable maharaja, the so-called king of good wisdom maharaja, the king of pure sound maharaja, the king of victory wisdom solemn Ji maharaja, the king of wonderful eyes maharaja, such as the lamp house belongs to the king of maharaja, the most superior to the king of maharaja in Guangming house, the master assumes the king of maharaja, and the king of maharaja in all wonderful and solemn sounds, so we must strengthen the king of maharaja.The king, the king of lovable Le Guangming, the king of moroga, is the first, and so on. There are countless, It is convenient for all beings to practice diligently, so that all sentient beings can always cut off the crazy net.

Question: “what is the king of murakaya?”

A: “translated as python, the sound is mohuloga, which is the king of snakes, so it is called king of mohoroga.”

Also transliterated as: mohuloga, mohuloga, mohulega, mohuloga, mohulo, mohulo, mohulo, and morvole. Translated into big belly, big wisdom, big wisdom, big python, big python, big Python God.

Related introduction

“Heaven” refers to the God of heaven. In the Buddhist scriptures, the status of the God of heaven is not supreme, but that he can enjoy greater and longer blessings than people. Buddhism believes that everything is impermanent, and the God will die after the end of his life. Before God dies, there are five symptoms: clothes pressed, flowers on his head withered, his body smelly, sweat under his armpits, and the separation of jade girls. This is the so-called “five great failures of heaven and man”, which is the biggest sorrow of God. Emperor Shi is the leader of the gods.

“Dragon” refers to the Dragon God. The dragon in Buddhist scriptures is roughly the same as the dragon in Chinese legends, but it has no feet. Sometimes Python is also called Dragon.

There are five Dragon Kings, eight Dragon Kings and other names in the Buddhist scriptures. Ancient Indians had great respect for dragons. It is believed that among aquatic animals, dragons have great strength, so people with high moral integrity are respectfully called “dragon elephants”. Among the Dragon Kings, there is a dragon king named shajieluo. When his young daughter was eight years old, she went to the front of lingjiu mountain, which is called by Sakyamuni, and became a male body. She became a Buddha first. When she became a Buddha, she was seen by the eight heavenly dragons.


“Yecha” is a kind of ghost in the Buddhist scriptures, including “eight yecha generals” and “sixteen yecha generals”. The original meaning of “Yasha” is the God who eats ghosts. It also means agile, brave, light and secret. The Vemma Sutra notes: “there are three kinds of Yaksha, one on the ground, two in the sky, and three in the void.” we say “Yaksha” refers to evil spirits. It is good to have many Yasha in the Buddhist scriptures. The task of the eighth General of Yasha is to “safeguard the world of sentient beings”.

“Qiandapa” is a God who does not eat wine and meat, but only looks for aroma as nourishment. It is one of the music gods who serve the emperor. The body emits a strong aroma, “gandava” means “unpredictable” in Sanskrit. The aroma and music are vague and elusive.

“Asura” this Shinto is very strange, men are extremely ugly, women are extremely beautiful. King Asura often led his troops to fight with emperor Shi. Because Asura had beautiful women but no food, and Emperor Shi had delicious food but no beauty, they robbed each other with knives. Every time there was a fierce battle, the world was always turned upside down. As a result of the war, King Asura was often defeated. Once after he was defeated, he went up to the earth and had nowhere to escape, so he disguised himself into lotus. King Asura is irritable, stubborn and jealous. He has great power and ability. He loves to do things like “Lao Tzu doesn’t believe in evil” and “the more chaos in the world, the better”. King Asura is also suspicious.

“Kalura” is a kind of big bird. Its wings have all kinds of solemn precious colors, and there is a big lump on its head. It is a ruyi bead, which feeds on dragons. Kalura is a roc golden winged bird. It eats a dragon king and 500 dragons every day. When it dies, the dragons vomit poison and can’t eat any more, so they fly up and down seven times and fly to the top of the diamond wheel to die. The bird cries sadly. Because it feeds on dragons all its life and accumulates a lot of poison gas in its body. When it dies, it burns itself. After its body is burned, it has only one heart, which is made of pure green glaze.

“Jinnara” means “man is not man” in Sanskrit. He is the same shape as a man, but he has a horn on his head and is good at singing and dancing. It is the music God of the emperor.

“Mohura Raja” is a python God, with a human body and a snake head. Disclaimer: the above content originates from the network, and the copyright belongs to the original author. Please inform us if your original copyright is infringed, and we will delete the relevant content as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *