“ Three emperors and five emperors ” What is the definition of? Ancient “ Three emperors and five emperors ” Who are they?

Spread the love

Three emperors and five emperors, next listen to the editor of China story network to tell some of their stories.

The early supreme rulers of China were called “Emperors” and “Emperors”. Their reign was at the beginning of the founding of China. The ancients called it the era of “Three Emperors and five emperors”. So who were the three emperors and five emperors in ancient times?

The three emperors and five emperors were a general term in the history of the Central Plains before the Xia Dynasty. Different historians have different definitions of “Three Emperors and five emperors”. But generally speaking, there are fewer disputes about the “Five Emperors” than the “Three Emperors”, one of the reasons is that the historical records has the “book of the Five Emperors”. Here are some common definitions of “Three Emperors and five emperors”:

Supporters of the “God Man theory” believe that the “Three Emperors” refer to the three God emperors at the beginning of the world, namely the “emperor of heaven”, “emperor of earth” and “emperor of man”. The five emperors are Shennong of Yan Emperor, Xiong of Yellow Emperor, Gaoyang of Zhuanxu, taotang of Emperor Yao and Yu of Emperor Shun.


Another view refers to that the “Three Emperors” were actually three advanced nations in ancient times, namely, the Youchao, Suiren and Fuxi. The five emperors are Shennong of Yan Emperor, Xiong of Yellow Emperor, Gaoyang of Zhuanxu, taotang of Emperor Yao and Yu of Emperor Shun.

The third view is that “the three emperors ruled by Taoism and the five emperors were moralized”. Therefore, the “Three Emperors” are the three ancient kings with Tao, namely the Fuxi family of Taihao, the Shennong family of Yan Emperor and the Xiong family of Yellow Emperor; The “Five Emperors” are the Jin Tian family of SHAOHAO, the Gaoyang family of Zhuanxu, the Gaoxin family of Diku, the taotang family of Diyao, and the Youyu family of Dishun.

Wang Yi of the Eastern Han Dynasty noted that “the five emperors are five gods, namely, the eastern Taibi, the Southern Yan Emperor, the western SHAOHAO, the northern Zhuanxu, and the central Yellow Emperor, while the Tang Jia Gongyan Shu” Zhou Li ยท Tian Guan Kuang si the Five Emperors “are the spiritual awe of the Eastern Qing emperor, the southern Red Emperor Chi Zao Nu, the central Yellow Emperor Han hub, the Western White Emperor Bai zhaoru, and the northern black emperor sect.

According to historical records, the relationship between the five emperors is: SHAOHAO is xuanxiao, also known as Qingyang, the son of the Yellow Emperor. Zhuanxu is Gaoyang, the nephew of xuanxiao. Emperor Ku is Gao Xin, the grandson of xuanxiao. The son of emperor Hu had Zhi and Fang Xun. Zhi was the emperor first, but his ability was too weak. Later, it was spread that he was located in Fang Xun, and Fang Xun was Yao. Also known as Tangyao. Yao later gave way to shun, who was called Yu Shun, so the five emperors were also called SHAOHAO, Zhuanxu, Ku, Tang and Yu. The corresponding three emperors are Fuxi, Shennong and Huangdi.


Several different combinations of three emperors and five emperors

One, Three Emperors:

1. Suiren, Fuxi, Shennong (Shangshu Biography);

2. Fuxi, Nuwa, Shennong (general meaning of Customs);

3. Fuxi, zhurong, Shennong (ibid.);

4. Fuxi, Shennong and Huangdi (ancient wechat).


Five Emperors:

1. Yellow Emperor, Zhuanxu, Diku, Yao, Shun (the book of rites);

2. Paoxi, Shennong, Huangdi, Yao and Shun (Warring States Policy);

3. Tai Hao, Yan Di, Huang Di, SHAOHAO, Zhuanxu (Lu’s spring and Autumn period);

4. Yellow Emperor, SHAOHAO, Zhuanxu, Ku, Yao (Zizhi Tongjian waiji).

Generally speaking, the three emperors and five emperors were divided into several periods. Suiren, Fuxi and Nuwa belonged to the Paleolithic age, Suiren and Nuwa were in the early stage, Fuxi was in the late stage, and the rest belonged to the Neolithic age. Shennong and Dihu are the earliest. Shennong is the former Dawenkou Culture, and Dihu is the Peiligang culture earlier than Yangshao culture; The Yellow Emperor, Yan Emperor, Zhuanxu, Taihao and SHAOHAO are basically the same. The Yellow Emperor belongs to Hongshan culture, Yan Emperor and Zhuanxu belong to Yangshao culture, Taihao belongs to xuejiagang culture, and SHAOHAO belongs to Dawenkou Culture; Zhurong is a little late, belonging to Shijiahe culture; Yao and Shun entered the Longshan culture stage at the latest. Yao was located in southern Shanxi, belonging to Taosi culture, and Shun (Wei) was located in southwestern Shanxi and Western Henan, belonging to the law making platform type of Longshan Culture in Henan. Disclaimer: the above content originates from the network, and the copyright belongs to the original author. Please inform us if your original copyright is infringed, and we will delete the relevant content as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *