What are the animals in ancient mythology? Which are the four spirits in the beast?

Spread the love

Do you know which four spirits of the ancient myth beast are? It doesn’t matter if you don’t know, China story network editor tells you.

The four spirits refer to the four kinds of spirit beasts that are regarded as the head of spirit beasts by people. They refer to dragon, Phoenix, kylin and turtle respectively.

1. Dragon


In the folk, the status of dragon is very high. Among the four spirit beasts, the dragon’s main ability is to call the wind and rain, and can give rain to the earth. Because the dragon is the messenger of rain in heaven, and can make people have plenty of food and clothing, it is highly worshipped in agricultural society.

This is the most common view represented by Ciyuan and Cihai. The former said that “the dragon is a kind of supernatural animal in ancient legends, which is good at changing and can make clouds and rain benefit all things, and is the long of scale insects”; The latter said that “the dragon is a magical animal with scales and whiskers that can make clouds and rain in ancient legends”. There are similar sayings: “the dragon is a very mysterious animal God with many divinities”, “it is an animal dreamed up by the ancient Chinese”, “the dragon is a kind of divine animal with long body, big mouth, most of which have horns and feet and unpredictable changes in the world that appears in Chinese culture.”

The creatures that can be seen in Chinese classics in ancient Chinese folk myths and legends cannot find entities in reality, but the components of their images come from reality and play the role of dispelling evil spirits, avoiding disasters and praying for blessings.

2. Phoenix


The Phoenix’s head is like a golden pheasant, and its body is like a mandarin duck. It has the wings of a roc, the legs of a crane, the beak of a parrot, and the tail of a peacock. Ranking first among all birds. In the Xia civilization, it is the representative of the most noble women and the symbol of men &\39&# 39; Dragon &#39&# 39; to match up.

Phoenix originally meant Phoenix, and later became the abbreviation of Phoenix because of the combination of Phoenix. The king of birds in Chinese mythology. The male is called the Phoenix; The female is called the Phoenix.

In ancient totem times, it was worshipped as a divine bird. It’s a metaphor for people with virtue. It is the auspicious bird in the imagination of people in primitive society, which has gradually evolved through the decoration of its original image.

According to legend, there are five categories: Red Phoenix, Blue Phoenix, yellow babbler, white swan and purple babbler.

3. Kylin


Kylin is actually a general designation: the male is called kylin, and the female is called Lin. Kylin is also known as “Qilin” and “talent of kylin”. Its head is like a dragon, shaped like a horse, shaped like a deer, and its tail is like a oxtail. It is said to live for 2000 years. He is gentle in temperament, does not hurt people and animals, and does not trample on flowers and plants, so he is called benevolent beast.

From its external shape, it integrates lion’s head, antlers, tiger’s eyes, Elk’s body, dragon scale and oxtail; The tail is hairy like a dragon’s tail and has a horn with meat. But it is said that the body of the unicorn is like a musk deer, which was regarded as a God by the ancients.

Kylin refers to the traditional auspicious beast in China. The ancients believed that there must be auspicious signs where kylin haunted. Sometimes used as a metaphor for a person with outstanding talent and both ability and virtue. The ninth book of Rites: Li Yun: “Lin, Feng, turtle and dragon are the four spirits”. It can be seen that kylin is at least equal to dragon, not lower than Dragon.

However, Kirin is also the grandson of Ying long. “Huainan Zi terrain training”: “the calf born of Ying long, Ying Long born of Jian Ma, Jian Ma born of Kirin, Kirin born of Shu beast, and all Mao born of Shu beast.”

From ancient times to the present, there are many capable people with lofty ideals who have shown the image of kylin in various forms. Since the rise of bronze culture, bronze kylin has also become more popular. The image of kylin made of copper makes people touch and touch, so that the image of kylin in people’s hearts becomes more clear.

4. Turtle


The longevity of tortoises and the influence of the sacred beast Xuanwu are regarded as symbols of longevity. The legendary Xuanwu looks like a tortoise and is the ancestor of the tortoise. Because the descendants of Xuanwu continue to evolve, they finally become tortoises.

The tortoise, one of the four legendary spirit beasts, is a descendant of Xuanwu. It lives in the sea, as small as an island, with less intense activities and a life span of tens of thousands of years. Disclaimer: the above content originates from the network, and the copyright belongs to the original author. Please inform us if your original copyright is infringed, and we will delete the relevant content as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *